“Bare Belly Syndrome”

That’s the official diagnosis for the cat.  The recent changes to her life (i.e., Kenny’s injury causing her to not be able to be held by him as much or be able to sleep in her chair like she normally does) have caused her to be so stressed out that she’s licking her hair off.

She looks stressed, doesn’t she?

20120719-215226.jpg

The vet recommended the Feliway plug in diffuser to try to help calm her nerves.  Feliway “[mimic’s] the cat’s natural facial pheromones, creating a state of familiarity and security in the cat’s local environment.”  So I bought one, and plugged it in, and now we are encouraging the cat to become a huffer.

I’m choosing to focus on the positives here.  I needed to find a new vet for Allie, and I really liked this one.  The office is less than a mile from my house, so it’s not a long car ride.  The vet was super nice, as was his office staff.  The price for the visit was extremely reasonable.  I got her up to date on her rabies booster.  And now she has a local vet.

Here’s what I can conclude though.  For years, I have said that Allie loves Kenny more than she loves me.  And I’m ok with this.  Mostly.  When I got home from the vet yesterday, I came in and said “Well, this proves everything!”  Kenny asked what I meant.  What I mean is this.  In the 3 short years of our marriage, I have had 4 surgeries.  Not once did Kenny have to haul Allie off to the vet because MY surgeries stressed her out.  Noooooooo.  But he gets hurt, and she goes mental.

Proof.  She loves him more.  And I now have the vet bill to prove it.

 

This entry was posted in Photos, The Black Cat. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

