860 days later…

Or 2.35 years from the last time I posted. Much has changed. To sum:

– I’m still racing. October brought my longest race to date: 70.3. I won my division. 

– I think I really like the middle distances. 10k’s, Olympic tri’s…just a comfortable distance for me. 

– I ran a half marathon. I did it mostly to spend a weekend with my awesome health and fitness friends. 

– I got tenure. Then I turned around and got a new job, so I’ll (briefly) go back on the tenure clock. 

– Health-wise it’s been a lot of downs and very few ups. 

– I screwed my ankle up to the tune of 2 avulsion fractures, tendonitis and a blown anterior tibialis ligament. And yes, I ran the half marathon on that. One month in a boot and continuous PT later, it’s much improved. 

– To why I’m picking up the blog again, I have also been diagnosed as having insulin resistance syndrome (also known as PCOS, Metabolic X Syndrome, and other names). This has brought endless frustration – from doctors condescending to me and admitting they don’t really know how to treat me, to diet struggles and frustrations, to struggles as an athlete. I can’t be the only triathlete out there dealing with this. I won’t be the only one to deal with this. 

I have learned that strength in and from a community can come from unlikely places, and can be invaluable. 

Welcome back to my journey. 

This entry was posted in Academics, Injury, Insulin Resistance Syndrome, Just Plain Life, PCOS, Races, Training and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

